Here's the deal: if you read my blog at all, it's probably for the movie reviews because lately that's all I've posted. Great, awesome, marvelous. If that's all you're here for, pass this post on by.
Anyhow. This is my first summer taking classes... well, at the actual "in my major, hard work, and generally boring" kind (even physics seems boring with an inept TA like mine making it more work than it should be). I like taking summer classes in foreign languages and Flash animation, but that's a different thing entirely. And I'm getting behind in my languages because of the "real" classes I have to take.
It sucks. It's just more of the same old stuff. Which likely has more to do with it sucking than it being summer. Because I've been in school for four years now, I feel like I've served my sentence, and I have probably two or three years tacked on for what? Mediocre behavior?
What I mean to say is, I have two midterms this week that I should be studying for, but I've been studying for hours already. I
should be fixing my bike and playing ultimate and taking up aikido and eating grape-flavored popsicles. After four years in college, I should be doing those things when I get home from work instead of getting home and getting to work.
I don't think cynics should go to school for more than four years. I don't think cynics should be engineers (even though they're probably the best for the job), since I don't think cynics should be engineering students. By all accounts, I lack the optimism to be anything but an interpreter or a graphic designer. Of course, objective masochist cynic that I am, it just wouldn't do to go through anything less than hell to pursue something that really makes little sense. Besides loving ME, but I don't know if that really counts as sense.
I guess all I'm saying is that I'm going to buy some grape popsicles, go out swing dancing til all hours of the night next week and then skip class on Friday, and basically act my situation instead of my age.
Also, if you haven't seen "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels" yet, please do. If you don't speak British, I can provide subtitles.